Labelling Examples

Intentional Addition of Gluten-Containing Cereals

  • The specific cereal name must be emphasised within the ingredients list (e.g. using bold font)
    Ingredients: sugar, milk powder, rye flour, rolled oats, palm fat, salt
    [Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011, as amended]
  • For ingredients, such as 'Oatmeal' it is permissible to emphasise either just the cereal element or the entire word
    Ingredients: sugar, oatmeal, salt OR
    Ingredients: sugar, oatmeal, salt
    [European Commission Questions and Answers on the application of the Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011]
  • For ingredients where several words are used in the name of the cereal ingredient, it is necessary just to label the cereal source
    Ingredients: barley malt extract, milk powder, dried egg
    [European Commission Questions and Answers on the application of the Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011]
  • Where ingredients derived from the same allergenic material appear more than once in the ingredients list the allergen must be emphasised on each occurrence
    Ingredients: whole rolled oats, sugar, oatmeal, salt
    [Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011, as amended]
  • 'Gluten' would be stated in the ingredients list when used as an ingredient in its own right. The cereal source must be specified by name and highlighted.
    Ingredients: sugar, milk powder, rye flour, rolled oats, palm fat, gluten (wheat)
    [OR…'wheat gluten or ',strong>wheat protein']
    [BRC Guidance on Allergen Labelling and the Requirements in Regulation 1169/2011]
  • Spelt and Khorasan are types of wheat, which are not suitable substitutes for people with coeliac disease and/or wheat allergy. Where 'spelt' and 'Khorasan' wheat species are present, a specific reference to wheat is required
    Ingredients: spelt (wheat), sugar, milk powder
    Ingredients: Khorasan (wheat)
    [Addendum to BRC Guidance on Allergen Labelling and the Requirements in Regulation 1169/2011]
  • It is no longer permitted to use allergy advice statements/boxes such as 'Contains: … (list of allergens)' unless there is no ingredients list present.
    Cous cous; Contains: Wheat
    [FSA Technical Guidance Food Allergen Labelling and Information Requirements under the EU Food Information for Consumers]
  • For companies who used allergy advice statements/boxes they should be replaced by the following phrase directing the consumer to the ingredients list:
    “Allergy Advice: For allergens, including cereals containing gluten, see ingredients in bold."
    [BRC Guidance on Allergen Labelling and the Requirements in Regulation 1169/2011]
  • Ingredients derived from cereals that have been specifically exempted from declaration under Annex II of the EU FIC should not make reference to the allergen in the ingredients list, thus no need for emphasis.
    Example: wheat based 'glucose syrups' including dextrose
    Ingredients: glucose syrup, barley flour, egg
    [Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011, as amended]
  • In case of ingredients originating from cereals containing gluten, such as “plant protein hydrolysate”, the reference to the cereal in question should also be made.
    Ingredients: plant protein hydrolysate (wheat)
    [FSA Technical Guidance Food Allergen Labelling and Information Requirements under the EU Food Information for Consumers]
  • Oats are considered to be a cereal which contains gluten. However oats that are not contaminated with other gluten-containing cereals (e.g. wheat, barley and rye) and when analysed contain 20 parts per million (ppm) gluten or less, as sold, may be labelled as 'gluten-free'. The oats must however still be emphasised as an allergen.
    Ingredients: gluten-free oats, sugar
    [Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011, as amended]
  • In addition to gluten, wheat itself is an allergen, therefore must be labelled whenever it is an ingredient in a product, irrespective of concentration.
    Ingredients: gluten-free wheat starch, sugar, salt
    [Regulation (EU) No. 1169/2011, as amended]

Next page: Precautionary Allergen Labelling


Last reviewed: 18 Jun 2015