Oats

Oats and wheat belong to the same botanical family and oats also possess a gluten-like protein (avenin). In practice, uncontaminated oats can be consumed safely by the majority of people with coeliac disease; however, crosscontamination of oats with other cereals containing gluten in the supply chain (e.g. harvesting, transport, storage and processing) poses a more significant risk. [Commission Implementing Regulation (EU) No 828/2014, Recital 7]


Next page: Labelling Cereals Containing Gluten


Last reviewed: 28 Mar 2017